All titles (3)
    TV Series | Episodes 1-10 | 2019-2020 | [fr], One (ARD) [de], WDR [de] | Comedy, Politics, Satire | Belgium, France, Germany

    Shooting data

    Start of shooting01/11/2019
    End of shooting21/12/2019
    LocationsBruxelles & Strasbourg

    Project data

    Film financing
    Length of episode26'
    Episodes from/to1-10

    Brief synopsis

    Samy, a young parliamentary assistant arrives in Brussels a few weeks after the Brexit referendum. He is obviously not fit for the job. In fact, Samy doesn’t know much about European institutions and he hopes to get away with it thanks to his wit and cleverness… Well, though luck: he gets quickly assigned an obscure mission : write a report on finning (the act of removing fins from sharks and discarding the rest of the animal).

    How do you get a report adopted at the European Parliament? Samy has no clue. He has six months to make it, six months to master the secrets of the Parliament. Powerful forces will work against him – to start with, a general indifference. Nobody cares about saving sharks – they are far less popular than dolphins. Samy embarks on a journey made of trials and sacrifices, alternating between psychodrama and comedy. For the first time in his life, he musn’t do his best… but his job!

    At the end of season one of The Parliament, Samy will have changed the world. Well, just a tiny bit, but still, Samy will have made a difference. And to be honest, there are not so many youngsters who can say so. (


    ActorRole nameVoice actor / SpeakerVoice actor
    Xavier LacailleSamy [SS]
    Christiane PaulIngeborg [SS]
    Liz KingsmanRose [SS]
    Lucas Englander
    Torsten [SS]
    Philippe DuquesneMichel [SS]
    William NadylamEamon [SS]
    Jane TurnerSharon [SS]
    Niccolò SenniGuido [SS]
    Jean-Benoît UgeuxMaurice [SS]
    Carole WeyersJanet [SS]
    Xavier BoulangerAgent de sécurité francais [SRE]
    Marie SchoenbockParliamentary Assistant [BP]


    3rd ADOnwen Alexandre
    Director of photographyLucie Baudinaud
    Casting directorClara Mulot
    DirectorÉmilie Noblet
    DirectorJérémie Sein
    ScreenwriterPierre Dorac
    ScreenwriterNoé Debré
    ScreenwriterMaxime Calligaro
    ScreenwriterDaran Johnson
    Commissioning editorSilke HolgerssonONE
    Commissioning editorGötz BoltenWDR


    Production ServicesAgence culturelle Grand Est


    Award winnerYearAwardCategory 
    Cinétévé [fr]2021Grimme Preis [de]FiktionWinner
    Artémis Productions S.A. [be]2021Grimme Preis [de]FiktionWinner
    Cinecentrum Berlin Film- und Fernsehproduktion GmbH [de]2021Grimme Preis [de]FiktionWinner
    Noé Debré2021Grimme Preis [de]FiktionWinner
    Émilie Noblet2021Grimme Preis [de]FiktionWinner
    Daran Johnson2021Grimme Preis [de]FiktionWinner
    Jérémie Sein2021Grimme Preis [de]FiktionWinner


    2020FranceSéries ManiaFrench Competition
    2020GermanyFilmfestival Cologne [de]


    TypeCountryStationDate / TimeComment
    First showingGermanyOne (ARD) [de]Tuesday, 06/10/2020, 8.15 PM
    First [fr]Thursday, 09/04/2020